Friday, August 23, 2013


Veronica Roth

Beatrice is a girl facing a choice that will affect the universe one day. She lives in a future society divided into five factions: Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), and Erudite (the intelligent). Growing up in Abnegation, her family’s own faction, is hard. It involves being selfless constantly and thinking of others first. Beatrice knows there is a place where she would better fit in, and when she turns sixteen, she will choose her new home, her new faction.

Beatrice can stay where she was born and live with her family or choose a new faction. But if she chooses a new faction, she won’t get in easily because there are multiple tests. If you pass, you are in the faction and can get a job and live your life. But people who fail become factionless.

When Beatrice makes a surprising choice, her family and others are shocked. She doesn’t know her choice will change humanity forever and start a war between all the factions, but it’s too late. Beatrice just a normal, plain girl? Think again.

Be prepared to be engrossed in this novel about the future of humanity, when people live according to their personalities. Divergent will change the way you think. It shows how Beatrice changed her life with one choice, and that one choice can define you for eternity.

-  Jamie Gibson

Bookshelf Home

No comments:

Post a Comment